G430W Com Not receiving

Discussion in 'Maintenance Bay' started by Banjo33, Jul 15, 2018.

  1. Banjo33

    Banjo33 Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    731
    Location:
    MS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Banjo33
    Took the plane out today and I usually check ATIS on my 430 and use the 530 for ground/tower. Discovered the 430 isn’t receiving on the Com. Tried squelch and to ID a Nav station and they seemed to work ok. Could this be as simple as an antennae becoming disconnected or I’m stuck pulling it and sending to Garmin?
     
  2. Ravioli

    Ravioli Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Pasta Man
    Start with the antennae, as you said, since it isn't shared with your other comm. Depending on the setup you could have 1 nav antennae serving both units (I do in my RV) but the comms are separate. [Unless my radio guy lied to me to sell some extra wire and install labor... I bought the antennae and shipped it to him for the install]

    Also... you say not receiving... did it not indicate receiving or did you not hear it? If the display indicates receive it might be an issue with the audio panel. Either not selected properly, or a wiring issue there.
     
  3. Banjo33

    Banjo33 Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    731
    Location:
    MS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Banjo33
    Only shows “receiving” with squelch disabled. Stilll get the heavy static, just no comm coming through. Because of this and being able to hear nav morse Code, I don’t think it’s an audio panel issue. Will look at the ant. Also, they just had to access the 430 recently to install a GTX-345, which may explain why I’m suddenly having an issue. To be clear, it’s worked since they installed, until now.
     
  4. weirdjim

    weirdjim En-Route

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,541
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA (KGOO)
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    weirdjim
    Hey, fellers, not to be persnickety, but "antenna" is the singular and in the USA, antennas is the plural. Antennae is the Brit plural. Now as to answer the question, yes, each com needs a separate antenna. There are some very complex (and expensive) ways of getting one antenna to do two coms, but it is 1/100 th of the cost just to do two antennas.

    Jim
    The antenna guy
     
    Paulie likes this.
  5. Banjo33

    Banjo33 Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    731
    Location:
    MS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Banjo33
    Coming back to this one as it still isn’t fixed and I want to try for recommendations one more time before sending it to Garmin.

    I’ve got a local A&P now and have elected to do a little more in-depth troubleshooting. I’ve been doing quite a bit of IMC too and only having one radio is a little disconcerting. When checking reception, airborne I’ve been unable to get ATIS at any range. On deck, I’ve been checking it against local ATIS at about 1/4 mile range and results have varied between 0-100%.

    After spending an hour with it today, here is what I know: I’m almost 100% certain it is not an issue with anything other than the unit. I installed it another a/c with the exact same issue (zero reception). In my plane, sometimes reception is 100% clear, sometimes it is 0, even with squelch off. When it’s 100%, sometimes it’ll last a couple minutes, then slowly transition to heavy static and 0 reception. Sometimes it’s 0 initially, but swapping freqs or cycling the power will get it back to 100%. Sometimes, doing this will give me about 10-15% reception initially, but then it’ll slowly clear up to 100%. I initially thought that I would lose reception as the unit warmed up, but after spending some time with it, this doesn’t seem to be the case. Sometimes reception is 100%, but keying the mic (pilot or copilot) will cause me to completely lose the reception. Sometimes with 0 reception, keying the mic (either) once or more will bring reception back.

    Having the 530W on or off does not seem to affect it. Nav works fine. I’ve reseated it multiple times, wiggled the unit, checked for recessed pins, and confirmed the ant is connected at both ends and moving the cable has no affect. I’ve cycled the power on the audio panel too. Last time it worked 4.0, I had a GTX-345 installed and I presume the 430 had to come out to facilitate install. 430 hasn’t worked right since.

    Again, I’m pretty certain the unit needs to go in to Garmin for servicing, but just wanted to check here once more just in case someone had another idea.
     
  6. Velocity173

    Velocity173 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    9,792
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Velocity173
    Gonna be expensive at Garmin. Spent $1,100 on my 480 a few years back for a xmit/ receive issue. Now they don’t even support it so I’m screwed if she breaks again.
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2018 at 1:46 PM
  7. Banjo33

    Banjo33 Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    731
    Location:
    MS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Banjo33
    Which is why I’m trying to rule out everything I can before sending it to them.
     
  8. Ray Eaker

    Ray Eaker Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Richmond Hill
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Raymo
    Since you also have a 530, have you tried swapping the COM antennas between the two? (thinking poor ground plane).

    Otherwise, sounds like it needs to go back - before they run out of parts to repair it.
     
  9. Banjo33

    Banjo33 Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    731
    Location:
    MS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Banjo33
    That was option #2. Then I found a plane where someone let me test my radio in their plane and the symptoms followed.
     
  10. flyingbrit

    flyingbrit Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    flyingbrit
    True, but to add to the confusion "antennae" is both USA and Brit plural when referring to insect's appendages.