/G routing request

bnunn

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Bob
I am new to using 430/530's and was flying Westbound near KGLE when ATC issued me the following request.

"Nxxx" is cleared to a point 10 DME on the UKW 170 degree radial, then Direct LLO"

My flight plan from KGYI was Direct UKW V161 LLO destination T82.

I understood what he was doing. He was actually helping me to cut the corner and save me the time of flying all the way to Bowie VOR (UKW). Would have been a piece of cake had I been at Bowie. However, after fumbling around for about five minutes trying to figure out how to set that waypoint, I humbly asked for a heading from ATC.

Of course, as soon as I got back home, I couldn't wait to fire up the 530 simulator and figure it out. I did. Can you? Or is this just showing up my inexperience on the 430/530?

On the GNS430/530, go direct UKW, and OBS it for 350º (UKW R-170). Once you're on the radial, you could either identify the point 10 miles from the VOR by remaining distance displayed on the GPS, or you can create a user waypoint with the radial and DME.

On the GNS430/530, go direct UKW, and OBS it for 350º (UKW R-170). Once you're on the radial, you could either identify the point 10 miles from the VOR by remaining distance displayed on the GPS, or you can create a user waypoint with the radial and DME.
I think you would need to do the latter and go direct to that user defined waypoint, because you weren't cleared to the VOR, you were cleared to a point 10 south of it, and you're headed westbound. You can't do a direct to of the cursor, can you?

You can do a "direct-to" of the cursor position, though I think the more correct approach would be the creation of a user waypoint.