G-1000 Simulator or Learning Tools

Flying Viking

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Flying Viking
Greetings PoA-ers...long time lurker, first time poster. I'm a relatively newbie PPL, 10 months, about 150 hours all in the Skylane. I was planning to get checked out in the Diamond DA-40 with the G1000 avionics, and to minimize instructor time and cost I wanted to do as much preparation as possible on the system before getting started on the actual instruction.

To that end, what would be the best study materials/software for this? Garmin sells an instructional DVD, there are a few iPad apps and software packages out there...have you guys (and gals) used any of that for yourself or your students? Any recommendations?

Thanks!

You can find many good videos on youtube, that's true. I find them good supplemental information.

I think the most cost effective way to learn G1000 in-depth is first to grab the truly excellent book by Max Trescott 'G1000 Glass Cockpit Handbook' and then for a mere $30 purchase a G1000 trainer from Garmin (you need a good PC for that). Both pieces will cost you about $70 total with shipping. For example for Diamond DA-40 I would be buying this:

https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/shop-by-accessories/pc-trainers-diamond/g1000-pc-trainer-for-diamond-da-40-f-ver-12-00/prod107669_010-10714-02.html

I think any material out there should be viewed only as a reference/addition to the trainer - I found the trainer to be the absolute essential study tool (but Trescott's book also an essential companion).

Last edited:

When I planned to get checked out in a G1000 equipped airplane I watched the above link, and when it came to the check out I had some reasonable idea what the CFI was pointing out on the panel. I now have around 30 hours flying the G1000 I still don't know all the features but completely comfortable with what I utilise for my trips.