Full Flaps on Landing... Always?

D_C71

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
D_C
Two weeks ago, I was receiving a rental checkout to authorize solo operation (1982 Cessna 172 RG II) at a local flight school/FBO.

The CFI I chose, had his ATP (mostly flew business jets) and was an insurance investigator (aviation.)

He put me through my paces with the typical slow-flight, stalls, steep-turns, emergency procedures, power-out landings, etc. Though a bit rusty, I passed his inspection, and was Ok'd to rent.

During my first "Normal" landing, on the approach, I applied 10%, then 20% of flaps. On short-final he said, "what about Full Flaps? Why aren't you applying Full-Flaps?"

Caught off-guard, I replied I don't know, it just didn't seem necessary. On roll out and taxi back, we discussed it a bit more. He said, "if you can give me a reason why not to use Full-Flaps, ... well?"

Upon reflection, it seemed to me that some CFI's I studied under, and textbooks, FAA manuals, AOPA articles suggested that less than Full-Flaps was appropriate, depending on conditions.

Perhaps his question was simply posed to make me think and reflect upon why I was using less than Full-Flaps, beyond habit.

Typically, (unless I'm doing Short or Soft-Field landings) I hold off on using Full-Flaps, unless I need them (comming in Fast and/or High on Final approach used as a tool/adjustment.) It also makes doing a Go-Around a bit easier (less than Full-Flaps.)

I'm with that crusty old guy you flew with -- use 'em unless there's a good reason to not use them.