Fuel Cap...

F

FuelCapMan

I did something so dumb.

I forgot to secure my fuel cap. I was at an unfamiliar airport, using a self service machine. The machine looked like it was from the dawn of time. The gallons dispensed gauge was for the most part INOP on the machine.

As a result, I got on and off my wing multiple times to check how much fuel had actually been dispensed. Since I got on and off multiple times on the same wing, I didn't fasten the cap the final time off that wing.

Even after walking around the aircraft, I did not spot the unsecured fuel cap. How? I have no clue. I was only on the ground for a few minutes so anything more than a general walk around felt like overkill. Apparently not!

I feel so dumb! I am disappointed in myself as I am a better pilot than that! I always do my best to take my time and be vigilant. I'm so confused how I let this happen.

I flew almost two hundred miles with (I am assuming) no fuel cap. Fuel calculations were normal. The wing was not covered in fuel. Always thought fuel would get sucked out of tank. Apparently not.

Anyone have any thoughts?

I am a young pilot, around 200 hours, working on my commercial license.

Aircraft is a high wing. I have well over 100 hours in type aircraft. However, most are from two years ago. Recent flight experience is in low wing.

(Not OP) But my cap was chained on and did not cause any damage to a C150F. No noticeable fuel lost either. Probably depends on the wing design. Cessna trainers may have inadvertently been design to be even more idiot proof than previously thought.

But don't try this at home. Or actually, it would be a cool test to put a GoPro up there and see what it looks like with the cap open during flight. I volunteer someone else.

Life is learning, as long as you lived.

No chain?

Maybe add it to a checklist.

I have a high wing. When away from my hangar, I check they are on and 100% shut after fueling (whether self-serve or fuel-truck).