Friend doesn't trust me...

• Thread starter LookingForAdviceInGeorgia
  • Start date
L

LookingForAdviceInGeorgia

I need some advice people.

I have a friend, who is also a pilot. We fly together sometimes, but when I'm PIC, he's always complaining about something. He's freaked out on me about a bunch of things, for example, one time he flipped out on me because I don't change fuel tanks every 30 minutes, I prefer to do it every hour in the Warrior I rent. He says that's not safe, and one day I'm going to die because of it.

He has, on many occasions, questioned my decisions in the air, especially when flying the Tiger, by asking questions to see if I'm going to cooperate. For example, on the runup, he might ask "Aren't you going to do [insert checklist item]"? Or on final, he'll ask: "Umm, the winds are gusting to xx, are you sure you want to use full flaps?"

I am actually a very good pilot, I think. I have very good habits, and I'm constantly pushing myself to learn more. I started doing slips a lot to get really good at them, and it is obvious that my friend doesn't trust slips, but he refuses to admit it. We were in a rental 172 the other day, flying near Marietta, GA, and I decided I would slip it. I had flaps in at the time, and my friend absolutely flipped out, completely ruining the flight.

He says that slipping a 172 with flaps smacks of poor judgment making abilities. I tried to explain what the reasoning behind the placard is, but he obviously looks down on me as a pilot, because he refuses to even discuss it without getting defensive.

When he is PIC, I shut up, and let him fly. I have decided that I would say something if he ever got to the position where he was going to kill us, but I respect the fact that he is PIC. I have gotten to the point where I think I am going to fly with him once more, and if it happens again, I'll be flying solo a lot more.