Fresh Water Fishing Questions

rmciottijr

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
rmciottijr
I am new to fresh water fishing all the fishing my Dad and I have done was salt water fishing. I had been doing some work on Friday that gives me a lot of time in the afternoon to kill.

On my way home I drive past a reservoir with people fishing, I thought that’s a great way to kill the time. So I went to Cablea’s which is also on the way home (bad bad thing) and bought a Rod and some fishing lures. The guy a Cablea’s said the reservoir has Trout, Pike and, Largemouth Bass so he gave me a lure for the Largemouth and off I went.

Well I spent 2 hr casting and reeling back in the lure, no I did not catch anything but still had fun. I am not sure if I am working the lure correctly but what the hell so I was thinking what do other people use bate, lures, bobbers, dynamite etc. Also if anyone has any pointers they would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Bob

That explains the hat and the license! :cheers:KLOM Beer drinkers unite!

What I know about fishing could fill a small post-it note.

If you want to increase your productivity use live bait. Minnows or night crawlers are always a good option.

If you enjoy casting I'd recommend starting out with a chartreuse (bright green) and white single blade spinner bait. It can be fished fast or slow (the warmer the water the faster the retrieve usually). Don't get all caught up buying 10 of everything in Cabelas until you find out if you still enjoy the activities.

As one who fished bass tournaments for years I can tell you that your paycheck can shrink buying fishing "stuff" as fast as it can at the airport :eek:

Now get off the computer and go wet a line!:D

Well Bob I agree with Kevin , i use Nightcrawlers and minnows, some weekend come up and we'll go night fishing from my boat.
Dave G.