Forgive me for I have sinned - Maybe (rocker switch)

Topper

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Topper
I will skip a few details, long story short is that the broken rocker switch on my 182 did not get replaced as requested. I went online and ordered a "Cessna style switch" that the description said it was the same switch used on Cessna aircraft.

I ordered the switch and replaced it. I happen to be over qualified to replace a simple switch. I am a master auto technician and a Master Electrician, however I am not an a&p and have no airplane repair experience or training.

So the question is, am I allowed as the owner and operator and the holder of a ppl allowed to replace the switch. If I am, then I will make the log book entry, if not, I may just forget about it. I can have an a&P check it out and sign if off for me.

The replacement switch was the same brand and had a higher load rating. It is identical in look and function and I am guessing in a few months will accumulate a little dirt and look just like the rest.

Jim

I will skip a few details, long story short is that the broken rocker switch on my 182 did not get replaced as requested. I went online and ordered a "Cessna style switch" that the description said it was the same switch used on Cessna aircraft.

I ordered the switch and replaced it. I happen to be over qualified to replace a simple switch. I am a master auto technician and a Master Electrician, however I am not an a&p and have no airplane repair experience or training.

So the question is, am I allowed as the owner and operator and the holder of a ppl allowed to replace the switch. If I am, then I will make the log book entry, if not, I may just forget about it. I can have an a&P check it out and sign if off for me.

The replacement switch was the same brand and had a higher load rating. It is identical in look and function and I am guessing in a few months will accumulate a little dirt and look just like the rest.

Jim