Foo Fighters

Discussion in 'Hangar Talk' started by SoonerAviator, Nov 16, 2017.

1. SoonerAviator

SoonerAviator En-Route

Display Name:

Display name:
    SoonerAviator
    Just went to a Foo Fighters concert last night. Dave Grohl and the guys are one hell of a rock band. I've been listening to their stuff for two decades but never got a chance to see them in concert until last night, and they put on a great show. 3hr set, no breaks, guitar/drum solos and ad-lib galore. I'd highly recommend seeing them for anyone who likes good ol' American rock. Dave even jumped on the drums for a song (paying homage to his Nirvana days). I honestly can't think of a better modern rock band that came to prominence since FF in the mid-90s.

Aviation-related: their name "Foo Fighters" is a reference to a slang term used by WWII fighters about UFO-sightings.

upload_2017-11-16_8-51-54.jpeg

2. Matthew

Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

Display Name:

Display name:
    Matthew
    Foo Fighters have a great reputation for giving the audience more than what they paid for.

And one of my favorite videos "Learn to Fly" (cover version):

Justin M and SoonerAviator like this.
  3. SoonerAviator

SoonerAviator En-Route

Display Name:

Display name:
    SoonerAviator
    Yeah, I love that cover, too. I haven't seen it for a year or two, but it would have been a blast to bring out the set and play for that.

4. ktup-flyer

ktup-flyer Pattern Altitude

Display Name:

Display name:
    ktup-flyer
    I saw them on the broken leg tour and am again in May on the current tour. They put on a hell of a show

5. mscard88

mscard88 Touchdown! Greaser!

Display Name:

Display name:
    Mark