Foo Fighters

SoonerAviator

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
SoonerAviator
Just went to a Foo Fighters concert last night. Dave Grohl and the guys are one hell of a rock band. I've been listening to their stuff for two decades but never got a chance to see them in concert until last night, and they put on a great show. 3hr set, no breaks, guitar/drum solos and ad-lib galore. I'd highly recommend seeing them for anyone who likes good ol' American rock. Dave even jumped on the drums for a song (paying homage to his Nirvana days). I honestly can't think of a better modern rock band that came to prominence since FF in the mid-90s.

Aviation-related: their name "Foo Fighters" is a reference to a slang term used by WWII fighters about UFO-sightings.

upload_2017-11-16_8-51-54.jpeg

Foo Fighters have a great reputation for giving the audience more than what they paid for.

And one of my favorite videos "Learn to Fly" (cover version):

Yeah, I love that cover, too. I haven't seen it for a year or two, but it would have been a blast to bring out the set and play for that.

I saw them on the broken leg tour and am again in May on the current tour. They put on a hell of a show

Grohl is a seriously cool musician, already in the R&R Hall w/ Nirvana as their drummer. He also gave credit to the former drummers of Nirvana (recognition), a classy move, during his acceptance speech. But what I like about Grohl is his admiration for the 60-70s music scene. He even went so far as to rescue the mixing board from a famous LA recording studio and installed it in his own recording studio. There was a TV show (AXS maybe) about it awhile back. One of my favorite songs, love the lyrics, makes ya think, which a good song does:

Last edited:
I get hints of a lot of the great rock/punk bands in their music. They seem like they genuinely have a good time on stage and never appear to get pretentious about their success when interviewed by the press.