Flying to Boulder

beammeup

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
beammeup
I am flying into KBDU from Fort Worth next month (KFWS) and have my route generally mapped out. My question is once I get into the Denver area what the best approach is. i.e, straight in (anticipating using flight following) and having to navigate the various airspaces, or heading west just before Denver and then shooting straight north into KBDU.

I'm a new pilot and have not had high altitude/terrain experience; planning on using a Cessna 182.

Get the Denver TAC then turn it over for the VFR corridor - essentially (but not exactly) slightly west of I-25 northbound at 7500' then a hard left once clear KBJC.

Probably best to stay a little south of the Bravo until west of I-25 the head north staying between 1-25 and Wadsworth. Get a Denver TAC and look at the VFR routes on the back. Traffic can be heavy south of APA or it can be zilch. Just depends.

Definitely get Flight Following when near Denver - 128.45 for approach on the south side. Denver Approach is very helpful with traffic and routing if you ask for that help (and frequently even if you don't ask). Talking to approach may get you routed through the Bravo directly over APA then west of 1-25 and north to BDU.

BDU can be a bit tricky. On of my primary instructors said to never land from the east. Go elsewhere when the winds were from the west. All I can say is that I've never landed to the west at BDU. YMMV.

Get some high density altitude training while at BDU. Leaning for best power is important prior to departure. It's something you sea level guys never do.

The 182 will serve you well and may cover for your mistakes. Don't get slow on approach - fly airspeed, not TLR since things will seem fast at the higher true airspeeds you'll see here. Keep the nose down on approach and a little power in and the 182 will treat you well.

(Greg was quicker and more concise)