flying the pattern (gopro HD 2 video)

iWantWings

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
wingsIwant
I'm a student pilot with about 5 hours of solo time.

On some occasions I use my gopro hd2 to record in-cockpit videos; they're fun to watch and also useful to see all sorts of mistakes.

For example, on this one lap around the pattern
  1. my turn from base to final wasn't all right (there's also some noise abatement to consider).
  2. I also carried too much speed on final which made me float during flare for a too long I think.
  3. And then, during flare, I began drifting left even though I had some right-input elevator. Maybe I was not using enough right ruder during flare?
Link to video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IbE9QSq1HHc
EDIT 2012-06-09
I've added a new 9 minute video with 6 landings in the cessna 172. For each of hte 6 landings the video records the turn from base to final and ends with the landing. Most of the time I'm left of center.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MpxYOuetgyg
End of Edit
Anyhow, I love gopro's wide angle lens; it captures a lot in tight spaces (but, as expected, there's a good amount of distortion especially farther from the center of the image). Am also happy with the mouting position I have some side and forward view and, on a big screen, i can see the guages on the instruments as well.

Last edited:
The wind that made you drift on flare might have been the same reason you turned inside the runway center-line. Plan more for that affect on base-to-final turn. Your head on a swivel was very apparent, important and commendable. You seemed to have a relaxed grip on the yoke, not always the case with low-time students... I tended to hold on a little tight back then. The rest will come with practice... Good luck and have fun!