Flying over the St. Louis arch question

tuwood

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
tuwood
My wife and I are flying into KSUS Friday morning and of course the first thing she tells me tonight is that she wants to fly by the arch and take a picture from the air. o_O

From an airspace standpoint it seems pretty simple to just stay under the 80/30 bravo shelf and fly a lap around St. Louis prior to landing. However, being a pretty new pilot I'm always concerned there's something I don't know about that will bite me in the behind.
With larger cities are there any special requirements such as contacting approach or requesting a city tour? I will be flying from Ames, IA (KAMW) with flight following already so can I just request a city tour or a loop around downtown prior to heading to KSUS?
Any other tips are always welcome. :)

Just tell the approach controller what you want to do. If there are restrictions, that is when you will find out about them. With the exception of cities that have Special Flight Rule Areas that works just about everywhere. In the case of STL, make sure that the Cardinals are not playing....that triggers a TFR over Busch Field.

Bob Gardner

My wife and I are flying into KSUS Friday morning and of course the first thing she tells me tonight is that she wants to fly by the arch and take a picture from the air. o_O

From an airspace standpoint it seems pretty simple to just stay under the 80/30 bravo shelf and fly a lap around St. Louis prior to landing. However, being a pretty new pilot I'm always concerned there's something I don't know about that will bite me in the behind.
With larger cities are there any special requirements such as contacting approach or requesting a city tour? I will be flying from Ames, IA (KAMW) with flight following already so can I just request a city tour or a loop around downtown prior to heading to KSUS?
Any other tips are always welcome. :)