Flying low over water and your new plane starts talking to ya

The Rotax 912 is designed to run without water if you pull the power back like he did. The heads are water cooled, but the cylinders are air cooled. Not sure why he climbed when the cylinder temp alarm went off, should have remained level.

HORRIBLE landing. Floats for a long time and lets the nose wheel slam down. :nono:

Problem would have been found had he taken the cowling off after the first couple of flights.

Okay, I'm done being ****y. :lol:

Last edited:
My guess is he climbed because he wanted to make it to land if the engine quit or at least that is the thought. Not sure how high he was or how far.

I could be.. Depending how far out from land you are?.. And if you're close to land how far from a good landing area? I wouldn't wanna be 2500' up over water with a issue like that..
But then I'm a newbie and still respect my aircraft and the whole flying thing..

Lol(backacha)

My guess is he climbed because he wanted to make it to land if the engine quit or at least that is the thought. Not sure how high he was or how far.
Isn't that sort of like driving faster so you can make it to the gas station before you run out of gas?

I know right?!? I hope he never had the music blasting through the headsets like that..or maybe he did to impress the female with his brand spanking new plane?

This is "low"

awtkpy.jpg

The Rotax 912 is designed to run without water if you pull the power back like he did. The heads are water cooled, but the cylinders are air cooled. Not sure why he climbed when the cylinder temp alarm went off, should have remained level.

HORRIBLE landing. Floats for a long time and lets the nose wheel slam down. :nono:

Problem would have been found had he taken the cowling off after the first couple of flights.