Flying Jobs for aging aviators

redcloud

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
scott keyes
While I read nearly all the posts; as a low time pilot, I seldom make comments. I rather try to learn from you all with greater experience. So.. please forgive me for only posting when I need advice.

I have been very fortunate to have enjoyed a good career as an oral and maxillofacial surgeon. In 5-6 years I should be able to retire. I finished my PP-ASEL in October and am presently working on my IR in my 1997 C182 (the plane is a low time "jewel", I even upgraded it with a G-430 and G-530, and plan to maintain it for as long as I can fly). I am planning on obtaining a Columbia 400 in the next 1-2 months with the plan to "grow" into it! After the IR training I had planned to complete the commercial rating to increase my proficiency. I presently have around 135 hours in my log book.

Are there any reasonable ways to make a little income during retirement in aviation. My two planes will be paid for. I had thought about mission work using my professional skills but would like to also incorporate the aviation skills! I also wondered if the aviation skills would be of any use regarding the PEACE CORPS.

No wish to replace my income, just make enough for routine living expenses.

The request for advice is sincere; responses in same vein appreciated! Are the other useful endorsements or ratings recommended? I am probably limited to a class III medical.

Scott

Go for it Scott, sorry I have no useful advice on 'how'. I have known a few that instruct in their own plane (brrr!) and others who have operated an air taxi service (some legally, others well....I'll tell you about the bonanza and the fence wire in the fog later).

The main thing that would be a negative for you unfortunately, is your salutation. People see that, and if ANYthing ever goes wrong in your flying they may go after your personal assets. Insurance will provide protection but that will be very pricey.