Flying Into Parker, Arizona

WellingtonB

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
WellingtonB
Newbie here with absolutely zero knowledge of flying. :D Looking to get some advice for a private charter and figured what better place than a pilots forum.

A group of us (6 to 8 passengers) are looking to fly from the San Francisco Bay Area directly to Parker, AZ. Our commercial flight options are boring. Fly Virgin from SFO to Palm Springs and drive a rental car 2 hours to our final destination. Total cost per person for flight/car = $400 roughly.

Now, if we could fly private and direct, it would make things much more interesting. We are fully expecting to pay much more than commercial obviously and understand the costs associated with running an airplane (I'm a boater). What would be our best option for the trip? None of us want to pay G6 money for this trip. Would we be good with a King Air? A fun old DC3? A pair of SR22's and break up the group? Any advice on contacting a school or pilots that need to log hours that could benefit us in cost as well? Any ideas, offers, or feedback would be appreciated. Thanks.

I'd just call around and get a quote. You probably have a number of options in that area of the country. I was disappointed with my lack if options and prices much higher than I expected when I checked on charters a long time ago.

Last time I checked a jet charter roundtrip from Houston to L.A. it was going to be north of $50,000.00 so good luck.

Your best bet is probably a King Air or a Pilatus PC12.

Figure bare bones hourly rate of $1000, and probably closer to $2000 for a turboprop. Jets will be 2-3x that.

Figure bare bones hourly rate of $1000, and probably closer to $2000 for a turboprop. Jets will be 2-3x that.

Sounds about right.

I'd estimate about $8,000-10,000 for a turbo prop round trip or $12-15,000 for a jet. Could be more depending on how long the aircraft and crew sit around and wait for you.