Flying in Mexico

mjburian

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Marty
My wife and I are headed to Mexico next month for our anniversary, and she wants to rent a plane so I can fly her around and do some sightseeing while we're there. I'm not sure I'm comfortable with it.

Have any of you flown in Mexico before? What would you suggest I do in preparation for something like this?

My wife and I are headed to Mexico next month for our anniversary, and she wants to rent a plane so I can fly her around and do some sightseeing while we're there. I'm not sure I'm comfortable with it.

Have any of you flown in Mexico before? What would you suggest I do in preparation for something like this?

Not comfortable with which part?

Not comfortable with which part?

Sorry, I suppose I could have been more specific.

Basically, I'm a low-hour private pilot (about 70 hours right now, maybe 80 or so by the time we get to Mexico). I'm worried about airspace considerations, regs, etc that might be different than here.

I guess more than anything, I'm just not sure what differences there might be from the flying I've done in the US. Any advice/tips/etc would be greatly appreciated.

This will be an interesting thread! Can you rent an airplane from an FBO down there? I imagine you can, but the cost to get checked out, etc., might be prohibitive. Sometimes the best option is to pay a CFI for a lesson (get some landings in at some other fields) and get the visual tour with someone familiar with the airspace, airports, language, etc. Of course, with your wife along for the trip, too!

Isn't there a guy based in Cancun that does guided tours? Not sure if he rents planes but he does write a book and give help with customs, flying regs, etc.

Which part of Mexico are you going to?

We're going to a resort about 20 miles south of Cancun.