Fly with a Common Cold?

MBDiagMan

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Doc
I did a search, but couldn't find anything.

I am a student pilot with a taildragger and I am ALMOST ready to solo. Coincidently my instructor and myself BOTH had colonoscopies, his Thursday, mine Friday. Fortunately both of us came through with no problems whatsoever. The doctor told me not to fly or drive for 24 hours.

Just before we stopped flying for these procedures I had really gotten the hang of flying a tailwheel airplane. The only reason he didn't solo me in our last session was that the air was starting to get super rough.

At the hospital Friday I picked up what appears to be a common cold, sneezing, sore throat, runny nose. I immediately started taking Zicam and it is somewhat under control.

So the question, since I am about to solo, should I fly and solo while experiencing the symptoms of a common cold? We won't be going over 1,000' AGL and I don't think I will have popping ears.

Thanks for any advice on the subject.

Doc (obviously not an MD, this is only a nick name)

I certainly wouldn't. I have done it once before and never again. When I have a common cold I still feel pretty crummy and made a commitment to myself after the first time I tried to not fly in that condition again.

Thanks Jason!

I have had no shortage of delays in my training. This means that I will go two weeks without flying. Oh well.

Doc

The problem is that the "cold" is not a single disease but any one of a number of viruses. Most can cause problems that can interfere with flying. It makes sense to wait until you feel better but even then you may discover a sinus problem at altitude that was not apparent on the ground.