floaty landings

GeorgeC

Administrator
Management Council Member
Display Name

Display name:
GeorgeC
I'm a pre-solo student pilot with a dozen hours or so in the 172. For the last little while, I've been practicing right-handed patterns on a runway with no VASI. To further complicate things, it's been breezy of late, up to 14 gusting 20.

My C172 POH says that landings are okay with any flap setting. I have typically used 30° on normal approaches, but have subsequently tried 20°, 10°, and no flaps in windy conditions. The lower flap settings seem to make the plane a little more controllable and less prone to wallowing.

Things are getting easier every time I go up, but I am still prone to flaring prematurely (happens to everyone...), hesitating when it comes to chopping the throttle after I cross the runway threshold, and underestimating the power of ground effect.

That said, I'm still finding myself floating down the runway or ballooning out of ground effect. Are there other confounding factors I should be looking for, or is the wind just messing with me?

Nope, use full flaps and slow down your approach.
What Henning said.

There really is no reason for a normal approach to not use full flaps. From what you describe it sound as though you are a little fast on the your final speed. With a 172 under 65 knots in a no wind situation will work well. Yes the plane handles a little different at slower speeds. If that is causing you some problem I suggest that it would be beneficial to work on some slow speed flight at altitude to get a better feel for the airplane.

It just takes practice.

Last edited:
Excessive float means you're going into the flare with excessive kinetic energy. Remember that kinetic energy is a function of the *square* of the speed.

"Float" = excess speed.

You have to lose that airspeed so that the airplane will continue to sink as you level off and increase back pressure.