Flightline 760A

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by John A Krumrine, Nov 30, 2019.

  1. John A Krumrine

    John A Krumrine Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Boone, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JohnK
    Has anyone installed a Flightline 760A radio in their airplane? I installed my last week, and the radio portion seems to work ok, but the integrated intercom doesn't work at all. Anyone else have anything like this happen? Thanks for any recommendations.
     
  2. Stan Cooper

    Stan Cooper Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,128
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Stan Cooper
    John, looking at the installation manual, it appears Pin 5 on the connector has to be grounded for the intercom to work.

    Also, paragraph 6.6 describes the setup procedure for the intercom VOX sensitivity.

    You can always call them for help. 1-800-235-3300.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 2, 2019
  3. John A Krumrine

    John A Krumrine Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Boone, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JohnK
    Thanks Stan. So the wire in pin 5 must be grounded separately, or does that mean that the #5 pin wire should go to ground? I wish their directions were a little more clear. I'll try grounding the #5 pin wire tomorrow and let you know how it works out. The radio seems pretty straight forward. I still only get static, but I believe that's a result of the airplane sitting in my garage. The first day I connected the harness, I did hear some voices, so I think the radio portion is fine. Once it works, it appears to be a great little unit.
     
  4. Stan Cooper

    Stan Cooper Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,128
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Stan Cooper
    John, you're right; the instructions leave a lot to be desired. The connector pinout illustration on page 5 describes pin 5 of the connector as: "Intercom (ground to activate)."

    Looking at the attached schematic of the external connections to the FL-760 (not the FL-760A), the only way to make the microphones "hot" for the intercom is to 1) ground pin 5 through a push-to-talk switch, or 2) ground it all the time and program the VOX (voice activation) sensitivity as described in the manual:

    If grounding pin 5 and then setting the VOX sensitivity as described above doesn't work for you, call them and get some tech support.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. John A Krumrine

    John A Krumrine Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Boone, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JohnK
    Well, I tried these ideas, and I was hopeful, but unfortunately, there is still a gremlin in the works. I disconnected the harness and sent it off to Aircraft Spruce today for evaluation--$19 postage. I did establish that Aircraft Spruce makes up the harnesses for these radios. If they determine there is nothing wrong with the harness, I'll try to go to Flightline direct. AS won't let me return anything because of their 30 return window that I just learned about. This inexpensive radio could get expensive very quickly.
     
  6. Stan Cooper

    Stan Cooper Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,128
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Stan Cooper
    Well, you gave it the old college try; sorry it didn't work. The Flightline manual is woefully underwhelming. My guess is that most folks who buy the FL-760A use it as a second com radio and have an external audio panel with intercom, so the internal FL-760A intercom has to be enabled by grounding pin 5 if the FL-760A is the only com and the airplane doesn't have a separate audio panel/intercom.
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2019 at 5:34 PM