Flight Simulator?

integra144

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
integra144
I’m an aspiring pilot and I thought it would be a good idea to by something called Microsoft Flight Simulator. I am pretty sure you guys have heard of that. Which do you guys recommend; everyone tell me Microsoft as it is the most realistic. Do you guys concur? Also is it worth it to buy the newest one X or is an older one 2004 or 2002 just fine? I have friend who has 2004 and will give it to me. So X is more of a cosmetic upgrade like Vista versus XP. Also I have new computer, but it’s a laptop that is more geared for business being a Thinkpad, so it may not be able to run graphic intensive games.
Thanks

Last edited:
I'd recommend holding off from Flight Sim for now. When you start, it's going to be very visual, and FS won't help on that, and may hurt. Plus, you may develop bad habits. Once you've been flying a while and are working on understanding radio navigation, you may consider going back to FS. It can certainly be helpful for some things, especially in the instrument world. Use it in conjunction with your instructor, though. There are a couple of books out there that address just that. Note that none of your FS time will be loggable.

I agree. Leave MSFS alone for now.

You're starting strictly as a VFR pilot and flying the simulator is just about anything but that. It might be good later as an instrument pilot learning to trust gauges but only then if you have a yoke and pedal setup.

Put your home time into studying the knowledge material. After you start flying and know what should be happening in the cockpit, you can do "chair flying" at home where you work through procedures for a helpful memory exercise.