Flight following

kevin waters

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
kevin waters
I don’t know if this will ever be read by atc, but thank you for such an awesome job. I’m a 100 hour pilot in a 172 cessna , I started in mesquite Tx, picked up flight following after take off, they guided me right over dfw class b airport (which was really awesome), all the way to kama Amarillo international, the whole experience was extremely user friendly kind and courteous, as well as atc at kama, I will definitely continue to use this service.

Is this a confession for busting Bravo airspace, or an exuberant endorsement of Flight Following in the Flight Following forum?

Had clearance into bravo with flight following, very user friendly

As a 130 hour pilot I share the sentiment. Never had a bad interaction with ATC. But I have heard them chewing out a pilot or two who wasn’t familiar with the KSLC Bravo landmarks. When in doubt ask for vectors.

Flying around Houston area I almost always use Flight Following and the controllers have always been great.

MEM Center has always been top notch with me. Same with JAX Center on our way to the beaches. Very helpful. Dallas kinda sucks though. I used to fly in to KGPM for work meetings and it was a crap shoot getting in. I was not surprised when I got the "remain clear of Class Bravo Airspace" when I am about to enter on FF and handed off..... I've though about more than once saying "Unable" and see what they say!!!

Had clearance into bravo with flight following, very user friendly

On the same flight, ATL Approach vectored me away so I wouldn't clip the outer edge of their Bravo; a lityle later, CLT Approach cleared me in to theirs. But it's what ATL does every time I come close . . . . This image has my outbound leg to RDU, which is much further west than the shown homeward leg from near the coast that stayed outside on its own.

Screenshot_20180920-221608.jpg

Screenshot_20180920-221547.jpg