Flight Following Question

rkdF250

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Robert
I am a student pilot and will be going on my first cross country solo flight. I am suppose to use the Flight Following and the last time I used Flight Following with my instructor they put us into the Class B air space. I do not have my Class B endorsment and plan on asking the center to remain below the Class B airspace. I want to use the correct phrase for this and plan on stating on my initial call that I want to remain under Class B airspace which in my case is 4000ft. Does this sound like the correct terminology?

Thanks for whatever input you can give me.

When you make your request for flight following, specify that you are a student pilot. That will quite likely clue them in that they can't necessarily clear you in to the bravo airspace. If they do clear you in anyway, just say the magic word: 'unable'. Say something like 'unable to enter the bravo, I'm a student pilot, I'd like to go under at three thousand five hundred' or whatever your plan is. They should be understanding.

Just say the magic words: "Student Pilot"

If a controller offers the Bravo clearance, use the amended magic words: "Unable, student pilot, no bravo endorsement"

If the controller insists and you have a safe route outside the bravo, the magic words change to: "Cancel radar services"

I'm sure that other folks will have more constructive suggestions.

As long as you tell them that you are a student pilot in your initial callup, then it shouldn't be a problem. In most Class B areas, if they give you a clearance into the Bravo, it is because traffic is light and they are trying to be helpful. They aren't likely to try and 'force' you into that airspace.

Initial callup would be something along the lines of: "big city approach, Skyhawk 1234X, student pilot over podunk junction at 3500', requesting flight following to little x-country airport"

Last edited: