Flight Dispatcher - Without the coursework

labbadabba

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
labbadabba
Talking with an airline pilot buddy of mine, he suggested that I should get certified as a Flight Dispatcher saying all I would have to do is basically take the ATP written.

That didn't sound correct to me but honestly, I don't know much about it.

As it turns out, a new job I'm in the process of interviewing for requires that the applicant be a pilot (check) and preferably a flight dispatcher. So it got me thinking, I self-studied both for my PPL and IFR tickets. If I studied my backside off and passed the Flight Dispatcher exam (ATP written?) would I then be qualified? Or is there somthing similar to IACRA where I'd need some sort of endorsement from an examiner?

You need the take a practical as well. I hear the written is very similar to the ATP written.

Yea I'm not seeing any hour requirements but I'd imagine it would be pretty difficult to do a self study and pass the written and practical.

Yea I'm not seeing any hour requirements but I'd imagine it would be pretty difficult to do a self study and pass the written and practical.
Jeppesen has an online dispatchers course. There are others, I'm sure, just don't know of them.

hmmm... things have changed... I took (and passed) that written back in 1984 or so... which may as well have been 100 years ago because I don't remember anything like ATP knowledge-requirements... IIRC, back then it was much like the PPL written, heavy on the weather and W&B stuff... Gave up the idea because the starting pay was terrible...