First Solo

alland

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
alland
Well I am busy doing my PPL training and this last week I did my first solo take off and landings...
And boy did it feel good when I touched down for that first landing !

The landing was as perfect as I could have hoped for, even my CFI came on the radio and complimented me on the pattern work and executing a very good landing.

He then told me to go stay in the pattern and do three more take off and landings.
Strangely the landings got a little worse with each one I did, by the forth one I was becoming pretty frustrated and stressed out.

Not sure why this happened, I have done dozens of landings with my CFI on board and usually get them in the ball park without being to heavy on the landing gear or wandering off center line.

Maybe I was just a bit overwelmed by the fact I am now a solo student ?

Congrats to you! The first solo day is a great memory.

Maybe the reality of what you were doing sunk in the more you went around the pattern. Either way, you went flying and came back with a good story to tell. That's a win in my book.

First of all, congratulations. It's a life-changing event.

As to the landings, I had about the same experience. One good one, a go-around because I ballooned on roundout, followed by a couple of mediocre ones.

Keep up the discipline and airwork. The certificate is the goal and it's within reach.

Congratulations!

My guess would be that subsequent landings were not as good due to stress. Yes your first solo is fun and everything, but it's stressful!

Betcha that's what it was.

But regardless, any landing that didn't hurt the you or the plane is a good one (so I've been told!).

Good job!

Congrats to you! The first solo day is a great memory.

Maybe the reality of what you were doing sunk in the more you went around the pattern. Either way, you went flying and came back with a good story to tell. That's a win in my book.

Congratulations!