First Real Soft-Field Landing

Aeric

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Aeric
Saturday another POA member and I flew to a grass strip, Frazier Lake Airpark. Pardon me, but I'm a rather green pilot. It was fun! I was a little apprehensive about not having a VASI or PAPI, but it was just a matter of keeping the sight picture correct, stabilized approach, 4-500 fpm descent, 65-70 mph on final, flare, keep the weight off the nose and smell the grass:). The problem was finding the grass strip amongst the grass fields. Oh well, I'm learning.
Anyway, great little field, nice people and a good day.

Grass does not make for a 'soft field', mud makes for a soft field.

True enough but for low-time pilots (and I am just starting to consider myself elsewise) grass is "soft enough" and a first landing on grass is an occasion of note and a real-life opportunity to use a skill. Mine was about two years ago in club 172 when I went to a private field to talk to a fellow about a multi rating. He said "just think of it as 'green concrete'". I did fine but did taxi through a swale exiting as I did not understand that the "exit" was marked. No harm done but not the best idea and a bit of a surprise. :yikes:

True in general, though IMO it's a good idea to use soft field techniques on grass whether you need to or not, especially if the strip is unfamiliar. I've landed on grass before and had my tires bog down. Bad drainage after a lot of rain, even though it hadn't rained in a couple days. Unfamiliar strip. Early on, did a wheel landing (not soft field technique) on another unfamiliar grass strip and got a surprise as the nose pitched over abruptly on touchdown through no input from me. Very soft grass, but no prop strike.

I love grass fields. I could argue that training would be better done on them. Less tire/gear wear and learning to really use all the PPL skills designed for grass.

I love grass fields. I could argue that training would be better done on them.