First Flight Lesson - 8/17

Alienswede

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Eiwe Lingefors
Did my intro flight some months back. Got through the TSA approval process (I'm a resident alien). Got my financial ducks in a row and finally was able to call in this morning to make an appointment for my first real flight lesson.

Having waited 25 years for this moment (since I was 7) I really wanted to fly so I asked if the instructor I'd done the intro with was available the same day. As it turns out, he was on vacation but another instructor was available at 4pm.

I really liked the first instructor but as I mentioned, I was far too excited to let someone elses vacation stop me from flying. As it turns out, my "new" instructor is a great guy and I was comfortable with him.

We started off with introductions and then did the weight and balance for the C172R I would be flying. Nothing too exciting here. After this went through the pre-flight check list, my CFI contacted ATC for Taxi and we were cleared for taxi to runway 22. I did the taxi and stayed mostly on the yellow line :) It takes a little getting used to the rudder and differential braking.

We did the run-up check list and then my CFI had me request clearance for take-off. I was surprised to handle any ATC comms on my first flight but appreciated it. I was rather nervous to speak to ATC but with a practice run and just one studder I managed to get the message through ;)

I got to do the take-off and familiarized myself with the necessary rudder pressure needed to stay on the centerline that I've been reading about. I rotated and climbed to 1,500 feet before heading north from CDW to the practice area.

On the way there we went over a number of things but my take-aways were about the oscillation effect after adjusting elevator trim and the feel of the trim tab. We went over some landmarks for pilotage and as we passed over 4N1 my CFI announced our presence and intentions on CTAF.