First CFI Training Flight

ARFlyer

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
ARFlyer
So yesterday I did my first training flight for my CFI. It was my first time getting to fly the aircraft from the right seat. It is very strange and made me feel like I was a student pilot again. Overall I think it went well, but I need to work on my takeoffs and landings! On takeoff I was VERY left of centerline and on landing I was fast and flared to high. My CFI also said that he got a kick out of my right hand searching for a throttle and prop lever. Unknown to me I had let go of the throttle with my left hand, put it on the yoke and was using my right hand to search for a nonexistent throttle. :no: That explained why I was fast on landing. I never reduced the power for landing because I had reverted back to left seat flying. My CFI said this is normal for people and that I will be back to normal after a few flights.

I can teach the maneuvers but I am having trouble figuring out how to correctly teach climb, descents and level flight. I found myself correcting my student's (my CFI) every little mistake on pitch and roll. Also I was telling him to fly the aircraft without first showing him the proper outside reference. I ended up just saying "this is how a descent looks why don't you keep holding this attitude and then level off into level flight at XYZ altitude". Does anyone have any suggestions on how to teach climbs, descents and level flight?

William Kershners book The Flight Instructors Manual was a godsend to me and I use it routinely for reference. I've only been a CFI for a little over a year.

I highly recommend it!

First, your disorientation and lousy performance on landing from the right seat is normal. You'll pick it up and be comfortable from either seat soon.