Finally!

ChrisK

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Toph
Checkride passed, and a mere 2 hours before storms rolled in. 1.1 hours total. Passed with about 75 hours as a student (that includes many discontinuances / cancelled rides and some cross country signoffs for places I just wanted to go). I started training Aug 7th of last year. Will follow up with a ride narrative later!

Excellent news! Congrats. We'll be watching for you in the skies.
- Russ

Congratulations Pilot...

I am in the final stages of preparation to take my PPL check ride in mid September.
I look forward to reading about you're check ride experience.

Congratulations... and welcome to the club! tell us about your plans for your first ride!

Right.

To start, i'm not entirely happy about the weather. There is a line of storms off to the west, in the route of the planned XC. They seem to be moving north and we will terminate well before we approach these storms, and while visibility in the area is reading P6, it sure looks like it is hovering around 5 to us in the air.

During the last checkride (that was discontinued due to a bad, bad mag drop) I had *cough* neglected to unchock the aircraft after getting in. I showed him this time. I didn't use chocks! :)

I do my runup. Mind, the plane I elected to use failed a mag check for a checkride with the same examiner just two days before! Knowing that the "plugs were cleaned up" yesterday, I took a chance. It is a sad comment on the maintenance of my club that we were both shocked when the aircraft hummed through the runup.

"Our first takeoff will be short field," my DPE says. I taxi close to the end of the displaced threshold. "I really want to avoid the absolute end of the runway - I'm afraid there are rocks over here!" "Well," he said, "by the end of the summer this will be a grass field anyway".

Brakes on, power in, leaned a bit for some extra RPMs.