Filing IFR with no IR rating

Status
Not open for further replies.
U

Unregistered

I am a student pilot. My CFI showed me how to file a flight plan on my iPad. I can file it as IFR. I am sometimes tempted to file IFR so I don't have to worry about cloud clearance. I have never done this, but think I can get away with it. If I do this and stay VFR, I am legal? If I get into trouble and need to go IFR I am permitted to this as an emergency from what I understand. Again, I have never done this. If I use my CFI's name in the flight plan, am I safe? Does anyone ever check this IFR flight plans? Thank you for your help and again I have never done this.

"Hi, please tell me how to break the law and whether or not I'll get caught. I'll also put my CFI's name in the flight plan so when I crash, they'll be looking for him and not me."

If you want to get the experience of talking to people, get flight following.

If you want to fly In the clouds and IFR, get an instrument rating.

We all been trolled again, I think.

Hey, just so long as he tells me where he's flying I can be waiting with the popcorn. :D

I'm a bit confused here...

Are you a primary student? (aka, no private pilot certificate yet)

I am sometimes tempted to file IFR so I don't have to worry about cloud clearance.
Your CFI has explained that maintaining VFR clearance of clouds is your responsibility and not ATC, yes? So you do understand that filing any flight plan has nothing to do with passing the responsibility of cloud clearance to someone else, yes?

If I get into trouble and need to go IFR I am permitted to this as an emergency from what I understand.
First is to learn how to and then always practice never getting into that spot in the first place. But if you are in a jam, are still a VFR pilot, and are about to get hung up in IMC, then you do need to confess the situation and seek the help of ATC so they can provide assistance to get you un-jammed.