Fighting with my health insurance provider

gkainz

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Greg Kainz
Does anyone have any insider info on how to wage war with a recalcitrant health insurance provider? I'm in my first year with these &#$*#@& people, and they're protesting, fighting, reviewing absolutely everything. Surgery last fall was just recently denied payment after 4 months of jerking me around. They're claiming it as a "preexisting condition". Letter from the attending doc of the so-called preexisting condition and the doc performing surgery both dispute their findings. Now they're trying to amend the policy to exclude coverage for me completely, saying I was instructed to have further diagnostic testing that I did not do, prior to application for this coverage. Again, not true, but waiting for the copies of the records that they claim support their position. They had no problem cashing my premium checks for the past 6 months, however! ARGHHH!!!!

They're claiming it as a "preexisting condition". Letter from the attending doc of the so-called preexisting condition and the doc performing surgery both dispute their findings. Now they're trying to amend the policy to exclude coverage for me completely, saying I was instructed to have further diagnostic testing that I did not do, prior to application for this coverage.
The state commissioner of insurance gets copies of all correspondence. That usually helps. In Illinois my receptionist has all the fax numbers....nothing like a little warmth to cook the egg....

Thanks, Doc. Preflighting the old copier and fax right now, 'cause they're gonna get a workout tonight!

Nothing can make me unhealthier (high blood pressure, elevated endogenous catecholamines and glucocorticoids) than trying to struggle with a health care insurer.