Feline Allergies and Flying

U

Unregistered

I'm a sport pilot who recently started dating a woman who has three absolutely adorable cats. Unfortunately, my histamine responses don't consider them (especially their saliva) so adorable.

I'm looking at various methods to cope with this, including OTC drugs such as Allegra and Alavert. I've never tried the former, but have had decent luck on Alavert - though it's better for hay fever, et al than cat allergies.

More than likely I'll seek out an allergist, and a shot to counter the allergic responses. I've found extensive research on PoA and elsewhere about OTC meds, including the numerous advisories against using Claritin-D (which seems to work best of all the remedies I've tried so far, and while I haven't noticed any ill-effects I recognize they absolutely could be there, with any med.)

Although we're under the veil of anonymity here, let me stress that I have not flown as PIC while on ANY allergy meds without following the recommended guidance on waiting periods following the last dosage. I take these things very seriously... and if it comes it, my pilot license comes before the woman (though of course I'd like to keep both in my life, LOL.)

. . . and if it comes it, my pilot license comes before the woman (though of course I'd like to keep both in my life, LOL.)

I don't know about the FAA isssues. Others will chime in about that, but I do know about cats, and to a much lesser extent; women.
I don't blame you at all for choosing flying over a woman with cats. But if the woman considers getting rid of her cats for your sake, run away. She will drop you to at the next sign of something that excites her.