Feedback on Mooney

Matt

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Matt
So... I am going to look at an 1963 M20C tomorrow after work and was hoping for some general feedback. Im looking at either a half or third partnership (depending on if the third person comes through). I am a fairly new private pilot with 85 hours so far, but tired of the poor availability and high cost of rentals in the area. What do I need to know about this airplane? Obviously a complex endorsement and transition training with CFI is in order. All of my time so far has been in 172's plus 4.9 hours in a G1000 182 over the past three weeks.

My main concerns are annual cost and engine cost (although only 675 SMOH, so should have some time before having to fork out for an engine). What gotchas do I need to know about for this plane?

Any feedback is appreciated!

Join Mooneyspace. That's where the Mooney owners are who can answer all your questions. Mooneys are excellent aircraft, but a 1963 airplane of any type is over 50 years old and it could be a pile of junk or a gem...

No gotchas on engine, very common one...

Finally get transition training from a Mooney instructor. Check out: http://www.mapasafety.com/

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Remembering to extend the gear is always on your mind. Sit in one, if it fits you, you are good to go. I flew in an M20C and it flew like a faster Cherokee with gear extension, its no problem to transition. The 0 360 Lycoming is as solid an engine there is in General Aviation. Mechanics know how to repair them. They cost a little more than a fixed gear plane to maintain because you have to swing the gear and inspect it every annual and you might have to repair the gear extension parts. Chance CS prop might be more than fixed pitch. Hard to say. Figure maintenance equal to your fuel burn in dollars. They arent too hard to sell when you are done with it. These days, you take a hit on depreciation though.