FBO Question

tngarner

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
tngarner
Hello,

I am a student pilot with a couple of cross country's under my belt. The other day my CFI and I flew and stopped at an FBO for the first time. It was great to see how that worked but I came away with a question.

Do you typically tip the guys on the line? My CFI said that he does not but then a few days later I was watching a couple of planes at the FBO next to my flight school and I did see that a couple of pilots were passing tips to the guys that were helping them.

I am huge on doing the right thing and if this is part of how these guys get compensated then I would want to do my part as well.

Appreciate any experience or what the general expectation is in the industry. Thanks!!!

For good service, I do like to tip, especially when they give "above and beyond" service (bad weather, help with bags, that sort of thing).

When we were moving my son to college, the two guys at Skyport who helped me get the refrigerator out of the plane (and all that other stuff) - you better believe I tipped them! They were life-savers. You'd be amazed at how much stuff will fit into a Bonanza, and it goes in a lot more easily than it comes out.

A tip for good or exceptional service is always appropriate IMO .

If your just getting fuel, I'd say no.

If you need oil, and he helps with finding a funnel, a clean rag, tire gage, etc... then yes.

Normally no.:nono:

This get's tossed around quite a bit. Prevailing opinion is that it is not expected but always appreciated. The more services you use, or the more favors provided to you by the line guys, the more likely you would tip.