FAR Question - Approval Basis for Handheld GPS

kontiki

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Kontiki
All,

I've been wondering how folks interpret FARs with regard to handheld GPS devices.

14CFR91.21 says except as provided . . . no one can operate a portable electronic device while under IFR.

I bought my aera 510 thinking that it would be a good way to obtain weather while flying IFR in an otherwise well equipped w/GPS, rental AC.

It occured to me the 510 could be considered a class 3 EFB device, or a PED and that as provided in 91.21, I as an operator I could claim that I determined it didn't interfere electrically, based on chicken bones or something.

So, how do folks rationalize through the regs to use Garmins and IPADS on an IFR flight?

Thanks,

the answer starts with something like, "...advisory only"

14CFR91.21 says except as provided . . . no one can operate a portable electronic device while under IFR.
You need to read the whole thing.

§ 91.21 Portable electronic devices.

(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of this section, no person may operate, nor may any operator or pilot in command of an aircraft allow the operation of, any portable electronic device on any of the following U.S.-registered civil aircraft:

(1) Aircraft operated by a holder of an air carrier operating certificate or an operating certificate; or

(2) Any other aircraft while it is operated under IFR.

(b) Paragraph (a) of this section does not apply to—

(1) Portable voice recorders;

(2) Hearing aids;

(3) Heart pacemakers;

(4) Electric shavers; or

(5) Any other portable electronic device that the operator of the aircraft has determined will not cause interference with the navigation or communication system of the aircraft on which it is to be used.