Family and Ownership

Tarheel Pilot

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Tarheel Pilot
One of the thing I've always wondered if having a family of three (if I ever want children I'll only want one) in a small town and owning an aircraft is possible. I mean I know that raising a kid is expensive, all kids are, but eh it's just one kid. Also we're not talking about a new aircraft, or even an aircraft with turbo. I'm a pilot that only flies for fun, so a Cherokee 180 will suit my missions just fine. I know that owning an aircraft isn't cheap either, so I was just wondering if it's possible to have a family and own an aircraft at the same time.

One of the thing I've always wondered if having a family of three (if I ever want children I'll only want one) in a small town and owning an aircraft is possible. I mean I know that raising a kid is expensive, all kids are, but eh it's just one kid. Also we're not talking about a new aircraft, or even an aircraft with turbo. I'm a pilot that only flies for fun, so a Cherokee 180 will suit my missions just fine. I know that owning an aircraft isn't cheap either, so I was just wondering if it's possible to have a family and own an aircraft at the same time.

There are obviously huge variables there. The main ones are income and lifestyle. We are a family of three. We own a plane, and we travel a lot. The plane makes the world a much smaller place.

We may never have another brand new car. We would rather drive old cars so that we can afford our old airplane. Planes don't depreciate like cars, so it is a little easier to justify the cost.

We decided that the new car isn't necessary. All of our long distance travel is in the plane. The old cars are fine for around town.