False diagnosis

Efrain Rodriguez

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Efrain Rodriguez
I started studying aviation in college and before starting with my private license they ask you to get your medical certification, I was denied. Back in 2017 I had a rough year i was in 10th grade (at that time) I was separated from my parents and was placed to live with my grandparents and well i was depressed so they took me to a psychiatrist and he recommended putting me in a mental hospital to see if i got better, then the mental hospital puts that i have BPD, after that I recovered mind you that was 2017 and later when I went to visit him he told me I couldn’t have bpd and told me its the most misdiagnosed mental illness my psychiatrist then gave me an all clear took me off my meds back in 2017 and i was good got better matured a lot since 2017 and now no depressive episodes nothing. Well recently I was looking at info because my plan B (microbiology) isn’t making me satisfied my dream always has been to be a pilot and for me microbiology is a big step down yea its interesting but its not my passion so im almost 22 now and I want to get my medical license. ( I have adhd i haven’t been medicated in years and im fine, also i have hypothyroidism and take medication for it but I’ve heard that isn’t a problem)

Last edited:
The ADHD meds and the BPD and the depression and if they put you on any meds for the depression will all be big problems. I would highly recommend talking to an AME who posts here sometimes. His name is Dr. Bruce Chien, and his username is @bbchien . PM him or, better yet, drop him a line at http://www.aeromedicaldoc.com . He is one of the best people you could have on your case with so many potential pitfalls, and he'll be able to tell you the chances of getting through and how to get there. Good luck!