Failed MEPS drug test 6 years ago, can i still be a commerical Pilot?

flightdreams

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Alexander
When I was young and stupid I chose to smoke weed for the first time a month before I was going for my military MEPS screening, thinking I would be fine since I don't do any drugs. I ended up failing my drug screening and have never forgiven myself since. I am a private pilot with 100 hours of flight time and a business degree. I desperately want to start a career as a commercial pilot and start my training, but I don't know if that test I failed over 6 years ago for MEPS will hinder me from getting a job with the airlines once I achieve my 1500 hours. Will they find out? Any thoughts or comments would be much appreciated, thank you.

The good news is that you don't have a criminal drug conviction on your record -- that would pretty much bury you. The bad news is that you will have to answer "yes" on questions 18n and 18s on your FAA medical application because you failed a drug test and you were medically rejected for military service. So yes, they will find out (if you lie about it, you risk far more than just not getting an FAA medical, and the failure is in an official government record which the FAA can access), but it is still possible to get FAA medical certification. The process is going to be expensive, including a 4-axis psych eval from a HIMS-certified psychiatrist, and will not be covered by medical insurance. The expert on that is Dr. Bruce Chien, whom you can find either on the AOPA Forums or his website.