FAA, Sleep Apnea, and the need of an anonymous risk assessment tool for Pilots

hannanmike

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
hannanmike
Hey everybody!

I work as a scientific researcher for an MD in Los Angeles. Ours is a team of computer programmers, app developers, product designers and expert medical researchers. We have tied up with a group of sleep medicine experts to develop an innovative smartphone app called “Zee Appnea”.

As more than 18 million adults in the US suffer from sleep apnea, it was necessary to develop something that would most easily indicate to the user if he/she is at an increased risk of sleep apnea.

This risk assessment tool includes an 8 question sleep questionnaire, and a method to record sleep using a standard earpiece – microphone.

The recording is sent for analysis via the app, and a report is generated within 48 hours that demonstrates the likelihood of Sleep Apnea being present.

After FAA’s announcement on sleep apnea last November, we were getting a lot of inquiries from pilots with regards to their medical examination and a possibility of sleep apnea. Many pilots are concerned about the possibility of being at risk, but are apprehensive about discussing this openly with their physician because of an imminent & perceived risk of being grounded (though it’s not always the case).

Since this app can provide you a risk assessment anonymously, you are better prepared to address the problem. If the analysis suggests that you are at NO or LOW RISK, you know that there is nothing to be worried about. And if it’s indicative of MEDIUM to HIGH RISK, you can carefully decide your future course of action depending on when your next AME appointment is due.

We have spent more than 15 months developing this app and refining the underlying sleep recording technology. We have opened up this patent-pending application to the general public in early April, and have already seen more than 500 installations across Android and iOS.