FAA Psychiatric Consultant

Adam R

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
araborn12
Does anyone have a rough estimate on how long one might wait on the FAA's Psych consultant to review a file? I've searched in the forums and can't find anything other than vague timelines which is probably par for the course.

My HIMS/AME called the Federal Air Surgeons office a few weeks ago and the woman she spoke to was very sympathetic of my case, and the timeline I have been on, and told my AME that they would move my file to the top. On top of that, I am a veteran who is (maybe) having my flight training paid for by the VA through Vocational Rehab and the VA is now telling me that they will pause my program indefinitely if I don't get my medical by December. With that information the FAA said they would send me a letter to give to the VA explaining where they are in the situation. That was 20 days ago. The letter is in the system but has not been signed by anyone at the FAS's office.

I started this process in 2017, have spent more money than I can count, and am frustrated beyond belief. I also know that I am not the only one in the position. I am sympathetic to anyone who has to go through this.

I think one of the toughest things I learned was that my 1st class was submitted electronically in January, but because the supplemental packet of information wasn't immediately with it, I was denied in February, before the information they asked for in the denial arrived. I mean, what can you do, right?

Anyway, just looking for some insight at this point. The RFS in Alaska said she was going to call DC today and call me back with an update, so we'll see. I just thought I was close to the end until she told me my file had been sent to the FAA's consultant. I feel as if I got moved from one stack of hundreds of files to another.

Patience is a virtue, as they say.