Experienced CFII offering high quality virtual Instrument Rating ground instruction

Philip Stokes

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
CFII from Los Angeles
What's going on, aviators!!

I'm an experienced Certified Flight Instructor ASEL - Instrument (CFII / AGI / IGI) and I thought I'd reach out to the community here with something unique that would really help you out. With COVID-19 still affecting the lives of people across the world, we've seen widespread transitioning to classroom education in the virtual space, causing the flight training sector to be hit pretty hard -- and yet we've still got student pilots out there who need high quality education, and experienced pilots out there who need biannual flight reviews, instrument proficiency checks, and supplemental ground instruction to maintain proficiency of their knowledge material and aeronautical decision making.

As you may have noticed, BASICALLY NO INSTRUCTORS LIKE DOING GROUND!! Understandably, they're trying to spend as much time in the airplane so they can get paid, accumulate hours, in order to get to the airlines as quickly as possible. That's where I come in. I'm an experienced CFII with hundreds of hours of dual given in the airplane, but have been teaching (and LOVING!!) ground instruction for about 6 or 7 years (additional qualifications available upon request) and training by a Gold Seal CFII who is currently the Training Program Director of a Part 135 air carrier. I'm the chief ground instructor at a flight school operating out of Torrance Airport (KTOA), born and raised in Los Angeles where I did the entirety of my training from start to finish (super quick-paced airspace). ****As the only full-arm amputee CFII in the country (AmA), I offer a unique perspective on workload/stress management and have been interviewed on popular aviation podcasts such as "Angle of Attack/Aviatorcast", "mojogrip", and "The finer points." ****