Exercise stress test

onwards

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
onwards
The FAA sent me a letter asking me to do one - apparently I should have done one as part of my renewal this year.

I've never done one of these before. Do I have to go to an AME to do it? or can it be done anywhere?

I think your going to need a referral ,to a hospital,or cardiac screening unit. It's more than just walking on a tread mill.

The FAA sent me a letter asking me to do one - apparently I should have done one as part of my renewal this year.

I've never done one of these before. Do I have to go to an AME to do it? or can it be done anywhere?
It does not need to be done by an AME but the lab performing the test needs to know that the FAA requires a non-standard protocol. I think they want an ECG every minute of exercise where most places get one every three minutes at the end of each stage. They have other requirements so it's possible to pass by usual standards and not meet FAA requirements. Get a copy of the rules and have the stress test person read them if they are not already familiar with the FAA protocol.

If you are under the care of a cardiologist, they can administer it or refer you to the lab to get it done.

Before you do it, get with Bruce Chien to find out what the FAA wants. The FAA wants it done a certain way and some cardiologists might not do it that completely.

Looking for some posts on the Red Board about the stress test, I found this common theme

Dr. Bruce Chien on AOPA Forums said:
Stress treadmill to 90% of (220-YourAge) for a heart rate and nine minutes on the Bruce Protocol. If your too heavy you may not be able to make it, remember you are running progressively uphill on steeper and steeper grades, faster and faster. It has got to make both rate and 9 minutes or its' a fail

But contact Dr. Bruce directly for a better insight into what they are looking for and how to get them what they need.