Excited for first aerobatic lesson!...but don't like rollercoasters?

Melissa2983298

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Melissa
I've always wanted to be an aerobatic pilot and I'm having my first lesson soon! However this is my first time doing any form of aerobatics (lesson will be flown in a Pitts) and I hate rollercoasters...am I not going to enjoy this as much as I hoped?

Don't worry, it is normal to be a bit nervous, almost all of my students are when they first show up. I never liked roller coasters either, until well after I had been an aerobatic pilot. Aerobatics are much different than any roller coaster you will find. First off, you are in control, which makes a big difference for most people. Also, it is a blast! In my opinion, the most fun you can have in an airplane!

I did my aerobatic ride in a pitts.
I was nervous the whole time but after every maneuver, I was ready to do it again.

I would do it again in a heartbeat without any hesitation.
Just go with it and know that plane was designed to do that stuff and way more.

My advice is if this is a one time thing, pay for the video. When you show it to people they are going to think you are out of your mind.

Have Fun!!!!!!

I was lucky enough to score a ride with an airshow pilot in his Super Decathlon while he was passing through for AirVenture a few years back. I'm generally not one for "watch this" style flying, but really had a great time.

The advice everyone gave me was to have a banana for breakfast. After hearing that recommendation a handful of times (and thinking it was somehow related to easing your stomach, etc) someone finally explained: "It tastes the same coming back up as it did going down." Luckily, I didn't test that.

Have a great time!

Also, it is a blast! In my opinion, the most fun you can have in an airplane!

Concur. My only aerobatic flying was an 8 lesson intro to aero course in a Citabria. I loved it!