ESET NOD-32

RJM62

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Geek on the Hill
I may (or may not) have posted about this before... but I'm too lazy to check. I was reminded about it because I just planted some ads for this product on one of my sites.

I've been farting around with computers for a long time -- since the 1970's, in fact. In that time, I've probably used every major antivirus program out there.

I must say, ESET NOD-32 is the only one I've used that I've been 100 percent happy with. I've been using it for a few years now on all my Windows machines, and I can't think of a bad thing to say about it. It's never missed a piece of malware; it has very good heuristics with almost no false positives; it's solidly locked me out of probably dozens of sites that had recently been hijacked or compromised; it does a better job of keeping up with OS patches and updates than Windows Update does; and it has a nice, small footprint and very modest resource usage.

All of the antivirus vendors seem to have their "golden ages," and I've sworn by others over the years. But NOD-32 has enjoyed a longer tenure as my favorite than any other I've used thus far.

Just thought I'd share that, for whatever it's worth.

-Rich

Interesting. My ISP provides Norton for free. I've had fewer problems in the 2 years with it than the 2 previous years w/ Eset.

Go figure.

Interesting. My ISP provides Norton for free. I've had fewer problems in the 2 years with it than the 2 previous years w/ Eset.

Go figure.

I swore off Symantec products years ago... Their products were just too... huge. They consumed so much resources that the machines might have been better off infected.

Norton's stuff was also very noisy. Every stupid thing it did, it had to brag about. "File abc.xyz has been scanned and found safe!" Shut up. You're a virus scanner. That's what you're supposed to do. Tell me when you find something wrong.