Engine Pre-heaters

MickYoumans

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
MickYoumans
Even though I live in the southeast where the winters are mild, I am thinking of getting an engine preheater. I had my engine overhauled last spring and my mechanic said a preheater was good to use in the winter so you are not starting the engine with cold thick oil. I have no experience with preheaters and would appreciate any feedback you guys have.

At what temperature point do you usually start using a heater?

I looked at the Aircraft Spruce website and found this heater:
http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/eppages/symtecpreheat.php?clickkey=49664
Does anyone have any experience with this particular heater?

Is there something different you would recommend for a Lycoming 0-320?

Keep in mind that I live in an area that rarely drops below 25F during the night and is usually in the upper 30's to mid 40's in Jan-Feb. Thanks!

I live in Atlanta and have a Tanis on my 182. Since my airplane is hangared 200 feet from my house, I go down and hook it up the night before a flight anytime the temp is less than 50F. Makes a big difference on ease of starting.

I use an oil pan pre heater. They work great

I've been reading about these since our tie down happens to be 10ft from an electrical outlet. I was also going to tie in a quality battery maintainer. Cold weather takes a toll on the battery, both chemically and due to the increased electrical demand to crank the motor.

I get the impression the best practice is to only use an oil heater prior to a planned flight. For example, plugging it in 12-16 hours before you plan to depart. Leaving it plugged in 24/7 has a tendency to create condensation inside the engine, which is not a good thing. So either go up there the day before, or get the switchbox to control it from your cell phone.

I too would love to hear people's thoughts on this.