"Emergency off airport landings"

John Baker

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
John Baker
I've never made one, hope I never have to. I did hear one over my radio when I was out over the desert with my instructor a few years back.

The pilot was conversing with the tower at KSEE (Gillespie Field.) He was talking in this rather high pitched voice. The tower told him he had the exclusive on the runway if he thought he could make it. The high pitched voice was now more than a few decibels higher as he explained to the tower he could not make the field and was going to use a roadway in front of a shopping center.

I hate to say it, but I was a very low time student at the time, and probably was not appreciating the full gravity of what I was listening to, but I actually found this ever increasing in decibels voice, comical at the time.

Even my instructor, who was trying to give me a stern look, could not suppress a smile.

Anyway, the fellow made a successful landing with no injury or damage.

When I got home that evening, I turned on the evening fluff, more for company than content, and the incident was on the T.V.

The pilot was standing beside his Cessna in the parking lot of the shopping center, telling the newscaster about his adventure. This guy sounded like a ten thousand hour ATP, totally calm, cool, and collected, kinda like John Wayne, so much so that the lady newscaster commented on his calmness. A total 180 from the voice on the airwaves.

Anyway, I'm just wondering if any of you guys have had to actually make an emergency off airport landing.

John

Just one. I was flying along minding my business when the rubber band broke. I only had two choices, one was a mountain with no trees, just huge rocks, and the other was a park full of people. I could see a couple of weddings and other events, including some soccer games and the graduation ceremony for the medical school.