Earn private in LSA aircraft? No medical?

I'm a student that has not decided ultimately on PPL or sport. I'm not sure yet if I'm going through the third class medical hassle. All of my time flying dual training with my CFI will count towards either certificate.

Edit - and the hours count the same regardless of what type of plane I'm flying. I'm just not allowed to solo in a non-LSA without a medical certificate.

Edit 2 - one exception is that the cross country requirements are different. PPL mileage requirements are higher for the hours to count towards the PPL cross country hours (is my current understanding). So ensuring that the landings are far enough apart to satisfy the PPL requirements will satisfy both PPL and sport cross country hours, but just flying far enough to satisfy the sport requirements will not apply to PPL cross country since it's shorter.

Last edited:
I'm a student that has not decided ultimately on PPL or sport. I'm not sure yet if I'm going through the third class medical hassle. All of my time flying dual training with my CFI will count towards either certificate.

Edit - and the hours count the same regardless of what type of plane I'm flying. I'm just not allowed to solo in a non-LSA without a medical certificate.

Edit 2 - one exception is that the cross country requirements are different. PPL mileage requirements are higher for the hours to count towards the PPL cross country hours (is my current understanding). So ensuring that the landings are far enough apart to satisfy the PPL requirements will satisfy both PPL and sport cross country hours, but just flying far enough to satisfy the sport requirements will not apply to PPL cross country since it's shorter.
Sounds like you have the rules nailed!