DWI and Class 3 Medical

BobbyC

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
BobbyC
Hey There! I am new to aviation and have had the pleasure of starting my training towards a private pilot's license a few months ago. This week, It became time to apply for my 3rd class medical certificate and I filled out the 8500-8 online and submitted it via the website. In Section 18v I disclosed that I had a DWI in 2001 and another in 2006. It was a long time ago and I thought I could put these things behind me. I have not been to the AME yet. My appointment is for this Thursday. If I do not go, Does my application go away after 60 days? Can I just back away gracefully and fly Light Sport Aircraft instead? Any advice is appreciated.

There are a number of "it depends" in your situation. Go to Dr. Bruce Chien's website and send him an email describing IN DETAIL the conditions of your DUI's especially the BAC's in your arrest reports. And when you get in touch with Dr. Bruce, follow his advice and don't try to deny or argue. He's an expert at providing guidance in these situations and will need you to be fully cooperative if he is able to help you.

The FAA has no sense of humor or tolerance on multiple DUI's. Here's the link to Dr. Chien's website:

http://www.aeromedicalDoc.com

Be patient...it may take him some time to get back to you. Good Luck.

As long as you haven't seen or given a AME your the number from your app yet, it will just disappear.

James and Mike are on the ball to help you.

Cancel the appointment with the AME to provide time to obtain accurate guidance on what to do. There is a specific set of documents you need to obtain. Getting all the right ones the first time goes a long way on your behalf. And one of the "It Depends" that Mike alluded to is what your BAC was.

You need to hook up with the tight AME to shepperd you and your submission through the system. Doing that will increase your chances of success. Dr. Bruce is definitely one of those AMEs