DVD video to iPad

Jaybird180

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Jaybird180
The other day, the thought came to mind to transfer some video to iPad, but I was under a time contraint in which to get it done.

I used to play around with video editing, shrinking filesize, etc but never needed to get the video onto another device. It's always been from my camera to computer, or video capture to computer and occasionally I'd burn a DVD with the content. Once I tooled with some software and ended up with a bunch of .vob files and could play it back with media players on my PC, but I don't think I iTunes will accept that (can I drag/drop???)

As you can tell, I'm new to the apple world, I mostly use my iPad2 for Foreflight, email and websurfing.

What are you guys using to get your videos (or DVDs) to your iPad?

Handbrake. Great software.

The DVD manufacturers still include lots of things to make it difficult to make copies of your own "content" you already paid for, though.

Your mileage may vary. ;)

<enter the spammers>

Somehow they always find threads like this (via google alerts, I think) and start posting about "cool software that they found".

**Warning, if your response to this thread is your first post on PoA...it is likely that your post and your account will be deleted.**

Handbrake worked, but took nearly 12 hours. This was on unencrypted video material.

Admittedly, I did not use my mediacenter, which has video editing hardware, but DANG!

Handbrake worked, but took nearly 12 hours. This was on unencrypted video material.

Admittedly, I did not use my mediacenter, which has video editing hardware, but DANG!

Yup... transcoding is CPU intensive. How big was the source file? (HD? SD? How many minutes of video?)