Dumb Questions (Part 2)

mrjones30

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Freedom is Flying
As a rookie, I have quite a few questions to ask. The flight instructor that I flew up with was mentioning that the school might close down in October, (Bayair in Saint Petersburg) so I will probably not be going there. In the meantime I would like to learn as much as I can while I find another school, (Hopefully I will find a good one) in the Tampa Bay area.

My apologies in advance for the dumb questions but I cannot find anything on the subject. So here goes.

When I look at an airplane for sale sign they mention "Service Ceiling" what exactly does that mean?

What exactly is an ILS, it seems like a landing aid but how to do activate it when on final?

What exactly is a ground roll?

Over a 50 foot obstacle?

Thanks in advance for your input!

When I look at an airplane for sale sign they mention "Service Ceiling" what exactly does that mean?

What exactly is an ILS, it seems like a landing aid but how to do activate it when on final?

Over a 50 foot obstacle?

Thanks in advance for your input!

Service Ceiling I believe is defined the altitude where the plane will no longer climb.

ILS is an Instrument Landing System, a pair of radio beacons, one oriented vertically and the other horizontal. The CDI that displays the VOR signal as well will have 2 needles that you keep centered and it will bring you down to the big block stripes on the runway. You dial in the Localizer (horiz) on the Nav radio and the Glide Slope part is automatic.

Ground roll is the amount of runway you take up on take off or landing that the wheels are on the ground.

The 50' obstacle is the distance of the ground roll plus the distance it takes to climb or descend 50' form/to that point.

That is the altitude at which climb rate is reduced to 100 ft/min on a standard day with a full gross load.