Dr. Bruce--high blood pressure

U

Unregistered

Hi I am 15 years old and my dream is to become an airline pilot. I just started getting high blood pressure so they put me on medicine for it. I was wondering can you still get a first class medical certificate if you are taking high blood pressure medication. Please email me at pdunn1992@yahoo.com... thanks

Hi I am 15 years old and my dream is to become an airline pilot. I just started getting high blood pressure so they put me on medicine for it. I was wondering can you still get a first class medical certificate if you are taking high blood pressure medication. Please email me at pdunn1992@yahoo.com... thanks

I'm not a doctor but I have had borderline high BP for 20 years. Have you done every thing you can to get it under control without medication? That is, diet, exercise, weight control? These things can totally make the difference if you are basically healthy. At your age you want to try everything possible to avoid medication because once you've come to rely on it its pretty tough to do without. I don't know about the 1st class medical but I'm pretty sure you can get a second and third class on BP medication. Even if you can get the 1st class it would be really good to not have to be on medication for the rest of your life unless it's really the only option. Talk to your doctor. Remember, he or she works for you. Tell them what you want to do and ask if there are other options. Don't forget stress. It's a factor in high BP sometimes though unfortunately at your age there might not be a lot you can do about it. You are pretty much at the mercy of school and family. Diet doesn't mean go on a diet, it means avoiding sodium which is in massive quantities in processed and fast foods. You gotta eat real food and avoid sugar and especially high fructose corn syrup which is the main ingredient in soda. Never drink caffien unless your life depends on it. Exercise means running a couple miles 3 times a week consistantl